Frame Building 201 . . . We’re not taking the easy route.

I promised pictures of the frame-making process, so here they are.  But first, let me introduce you to Sasha.  She’s my friend’s roommate’s dog, and she’s awesome!
Okay, here’s how I made my frames, step by step.

First, I glued and nailed L-shaped trim to a 1"x3" piece of lumber. *Note- Make sure the nails you're using don't poke through either side, otherwise they'll be sticking out of your frame, or won't allow the panel to sit flat on the inside of the trim.

Notice the painted wood. This is the trim that overlaps the very outside edges of the painting. The 1"x3" lumber is right on top of it, so it covers the sides of the panel. I cut the pieces at 45 degree angles, created the frame, fit the panel inside, then nailed the frame to the panel. The 45 degree cuts make the corners look neater and more precise.

After I attached the frame to the panel, I filled in the seam between the L-shaped trim and the 1"x3" with wood filler and sanded it down. Twice.

...Painted it... I stuck paper underneath the trim that fits over the edges of the painting so I didn't get any on the panel. 'Douchebag' glass with drink of choice is necessary to create a good frame.

And now it looks like this!

I made a few/a ton of mistakes along the way.  My best advice… Make sure you KNOW you’re attaching the right pieces and cutting things at the right angles.  I accidentally used a piece that I cut about 1/4″ too short.  I left the good one on a table to take pictures of it for my blog!  Anyway, I was able to hammer out the bad piece and insert the correct one so my panel fit inside the frame.  Whew.  Also, don’t be afraid to draw on the trim if you have trouble remembering what angle to cut at.  You can always erase pencil, or just paint right over it.  I feel like if I can do this, anyone can.  On the real!

I also took some pictures of a small painting today.  This big guy kept getting in my way though.

Mr. Hugo Bigman

That’s one of my dogs, Hugo.  He’s half poodle half golden retriever and the biggest doofus ever.  You’ll probably see pictures of my other dog Gidget sometime in the near future.  Anyway, here’s that painting.

Detail.

WAIT, that’s not it!  DECKED was AWESOME!  We had the Opening Reception this past Friday.  If you couldn’t make it out, we’ll be open for 2nd Fridays on March 9th from 6-10.  I’ll post pictures after this Friday’s event.

That’s it for now!  Get out there and make some frames, people!

Leave a Reply

