Pictures for each post?

I wish I had a few more things documented via picture for you… I promise I’ll have more next time.

This past weekend I met up with my friend Jessica so we could make frames for some paintings.  …3:30 am rolled around and I only had one made, definitely used too much wood putty, and had not even painted it.  Heh.  I guess that’s what happens when 1) you’re not too good at measuring, and 2) you’re not so good with power tools.  No better time to improve on those things than now I s’pose.

I didn’t exactly make the process easy for myself though.  First, I attached some L-shaped trim to the outer corners of the painting.  It makes a small border around the actual painted image and bends to cover a portion of the sides.  It also covers some imperfections on the edges of the painting.  My panels are about 1.75″ deep, so the L-shaped trim wasn’t wide enough to cover the outside edges.  In order to cover the sides, I attached 1 x 3 pieces of wood on all sides, on top of the L-Shaped trim.  This might be hard to follow, so next time I make a frame like this I’ll definitely take pictures of the process.  Anyway, once everything was put together, the frame created a small border overlapping the edges of my painting and also gave it a clean finished appearance.  Me likey.

When I give it the final sand and some paint this weekend, I’ll post some pictures.  I plan on making the same kind of frame for other panels.

What else…

I saw Tennis last night at Lincoln Hall!  L.H. is one of my favorite venues in the city.  It’s clean, has great sound, tickets are reasonably priced (around $15), and there’s not a bad seat in the house.  They also have Lagunitas IPA on tap.  …I think that’s what really won me over.  Since I’m lacking pictures, here’s one of Tennis’ new singles. FYI they sound just as good live as they do on the album!

Well, I guess I’ll leave you with that, and I’ll post on Thursday for sure.  We’re installing ‘Decked’ on Wednesday at the gallery, so I’ll put up some installation pics for ya.  Promise!

Ta ta!

Leave a Reply

